This website uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in El Salvador

El Salvador is made up of 14 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in El Salvador. Information on all primary administrative regions in El Salvador.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in El Salvador alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in El Salvador

There are 14 regions in El Salvador in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in El Salvador
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Ahuachapan Departamento de Ahuachapán1.333,406Ahuachapan Ahuachapán34,102
Cabanas Departamento de Cabañas2.164,945Sensuntepeque Sensuntepeque20,386
Chalatenango Departamento de Chalatenango3.204,808Chalatenango Chalatenango19,364
Cuscatlan Departamento de Cuscatlán4.252,528Cojutepeque Cojutepeque48,411
La Libertad Departamento de La Libertad5.747,662Santa Tecla Santa Tecla124,694
La Paz Departamento de La Paz6.328,221Zacatecoluca Zacatecoluca39,613
La Union Departamento de La Unión7.263,271La Union La Unión26,807
Morazan Departamento de Morazán8.199,519San Francisco San Francisco16,152
San Miguel Departamento de San Miguel9.478,792San Miguel San Miguel161,880
San Salvador Departamento de San Salvador10.1,740,847San Salvador San Salvador525,990
San Vicente Departamento de San Vicente11.174,561San Vicente San Vicente41,504
Santa Ana Departamento de Santa Ana12.572,081Santa Ana Santa Ana176,661
Sonsonate Departamento de Sonsonate13.463,739Sonsonate Sonsonate59,468
Usulutan Departamento de Usulután14.366,040Usulutan Usulután51,910